Board of Education adopts proposed budget for 2017-2018 school year

on May 3, 2017

At a special meeting on April 20, the Monroe-Woodbury Board of Education adopted a $171,202,208 proposed budget for the 2017-2018 school year. This budget, which represents a spending increase of $6,384,372 or 3.87 percent, will result in a tax levy increase of 3.85  percent – an increase that is below the district’s legal limit as defined by New York’s tax levy cap legislation. The proposed budget allows Monroe-Woodbury to preserve its educational programs and personnel for the next year.

The proposed budget’s tax levy – $116,474,300 – is less than the allotted maximum allowable levy for 2017-2018. This means that a simple majority of voters (more than 50 percent) is needed to pass the budget.

In addition to the proposed budget, district residents will also vote to authorize the purchase of 12 new school vehicles: one 72-passenger bus with undercarriage compartments, five 72-passenger buses, three 29-passenger vans and three cars. More than 60 percent of the cost of the vehicles will be covered by state aid.

Residents will also vote on the establishment of a capital reserve fund with a contribution limit of $40 million over a duration of 15 years. The reserve would allow the district to put any potential surplus monies aside in a voter-controlled fund that would be used for performing capital projects and improvements to any district building or facility. Voter approval would be required any time capital reserve funds are to be spent. Please visit the district’s capital reserve fund page for additional information.

In addition, residents will elect three members to the Board of Education to fill the seats of Donald Beeler, Daniel Ezratty and Jonathan Huberth, whose terms expire at the end of the school year. The three candidates who receive the most votes will be appointed and sworn in at the organizational board meeting in July. Their terms will commence on July 1, 2017 and expire on June 30, 2020.

The candidates are (listed in ballot order):

  • Daniel A. Ezratty (incumbent)
  • Sylvia Stanley-Dummitt
  • Jonathan Huberth (incumbent)
  • Donald Beeler (incumbent)

The annual budget vote will be held on Tuesday, May 16. Please visit the district’s budget page for general information about budget creation and voting. A budget brochure with information related to the proposed budget will be mailed to district residents in early May. Please email questions to or contact the business office at 845-460-6200.

Tags: , ,