County-wide Bus Safety Poster Contest winners named

on May 1, 2020

The winners of the annual Tri-County Association for Pupil Transportation’s 2020 School Bus Safety Poster Contest were announced on April 23. School districts in over 40 states participate in local and state-level competitions to select artwork that depicts school bus safety-related themes and encourages and promotes school bus safety.

This year’s theme was “Can’t Touch This – The Danger Zone” referring to areas surrounding school buses where students should never go. These M-W artists colorfully illustrated the Danger Zone.

Congratulations to these twelve students on their winning artwork:
Division I
Marie Cwiekowska, Smith Clove Elementary, 1st place
Elizabeth Zhepak, North Main Elementary, 2nd place
Bryan Prado Corona, Smith Clove Elementary, 3rd place
Isabella Rosas, Sapphire Elementary, 4th place
Division II
Julia Greenhut, Pine Tree Elementary, 1st place
R.J. Loesche, North Main Elementary, 2nd place
Bailey Chiarella, Pine Tree Elementary, 3rd place
Bryan Morales, North Main Elementary, 4th place
Division III
Bianca Mangonon, Middle School, 1st place
Kailyn Simon, Middle School, 2nd place
Division IV
Joel Torralba Contreras, Pine Tree Elementary, 1st place
Gabriella Garcia, Smith Clove Elementary, 2nd place

First place winners in each of the four categories will be receiving a monetary award in the mail from Tri-County Association for Pupil Transportation and their artwork will go on to be judged at the state level.