Voters to decide on $164.8 million proposed budget on May 17

on May 17, 2016

On Tuesday, May 17, Monroe-Woodbury Central School District residents will vote on a $164,817,836 proposed budget for 2016-17 school year. This budget, which represents a spending increase of $3,556,581 or 2.21 percent, will result in a tax levy increase of 1.15 percent – the second lowest levy increase in 15 years.
View budget brochure

What’s new on the Ballot this year?

Proposition III asks for residents to vote to allow a student to serve on the Board of Education as an ex officio, non voting member, in accordance with the provisions of Section 1702 of the Education Law.

Also on the Ballot

Proposition I asks Monroe-Woodbury residents to vote on a $164,817,836 proposed budget for the 2016-17 school year.

The district will receive an estimated increase of approximately $1.99 million in state aid for next year. The aid increase, in addition to a moderate use of fund balance and decreased costs associated with the state’s retirement system, have allowed Monroe-Woodbury to preserve its educational programs and personnel for the next year.

The proposed budget’s tax levy – $112,154,152 – is less than the allotted maximum allowable levy for 2016-17. This means that a simple majority of voters (more than 50 percent) is needed to pass the budget.

Bus and Vehicle Proposition II: In addition to the proposed budget, district residents will also vote to authorize the purchase of 11 new school vehicles and elect three members to the Board of Education.

The 11 school vehicles – three 72-passenger buses with undercarriage compartments, at a maximum cost of $123,439 each; three 72-passenger buses, at a maximum cost of $118,842 each; three 29-passenger vans at a maximum cost of $66,209 each; and two wheelchair-accessible vans at a maximum cost of $54,195 each. More than 60 percent of the cost of buses will be covered by state aid.

Board of Education Members: Residents will elect three members to the Board of Education to fill the seats of Lorraine Carroll, Suzanne Donahue, and Mark O’Brien, whose terms expire at the end of the school year. The three candidates who receive the most votes will be appointed and sworn in at the organizational board meeting in July. Their terms will commence on July 1, 2016 and expire on June 30, 2019.

The candidates are (listed in ballot order):

  • Charles LeViseur
  • Suzanne Donahue (incumbent)
  • Staci McCleary
  • Lorraine Carroll (incumbent)

Please visit the district’s budget page for more detailed information about the proposed budget, budget creation and voting requirements. Details about the proposed budget has been mailed to district residents in a 2016-17 budget brochure, which includes the mandatory budget notice.