M-W Board of Education adopts proposed budget for 2018-19 school year

on April 23, 2018

At a special meeting on April 19, the Monroe-Woodbury Board of Education adopted a $176,593,137 proposed budget for the 2018-2019 school year. This budget, which represents a spending increase of $5,390,929 or 3.15 percent, will result in a tax levy increase of 2.86 percent – an increase that is below the district’s legal limit as defined by New York’s tax levy cap legislation. The proposed budget allows Monroe-Woodbury to preserve its educational programs, enhance security initiatives and maintain personnel for the 2018-2018 school year.

The proposed tax levy – $119,800,000 – is less than the allotted maximum allowable levy for 2018-2019. This means that a simple majority of voters (more than 50 percent) is needed to pass the budget. A public hearing regarding the proposed budget will be held in the Education Center on Wednesday, May 2 at 6 p.m.

The proposed budget includes an increase in funding of approximately $390,000 for district-wide security enhancements. The security department budget would increase from $1.23 million in 2017-18 to $1.62 million in 2018-2019. The additional appropriations would fund school resource officer(s) and enhancements to school security systems, such as additional door access controls, security cameras and a visitor management system.

In addition to the proposed budget, district residents will also vote to authorize the purchase of 10 new school vehicles at a cost of $1,068,950: seven 72-passenger bus with undercarriage compartments, one 72-passenger bus with undercarriage compartments, and two 8-passenger Chevy Suburbans. More than 60 percent of the cost of the vehicles will be covered by state aid. The vehicles being retired collectively have in excess of 1.5 million miles of use.

Residents will also elect three members to the Board of Education to fill the seats of Anthony Andersen, Christopher DiLorenzo and Michael Salatto, whose terms expire at the end of the school year. The three candidates who receive the most votes will be appointed and sworn in at the organizational board meeting in July. Their terms will commence on July 1, 2018 and expire on June 30, 2021.

The candidates are (listed in ballot order):

  • Dawn Tauber
  • Christopher DiLorenzo (incumbent)
  • Anthony Andersen  (incumbent)

The annual budget vote will be held on Tuesday, May 15. Please visit the district’s budget page for general information about budget creation and voting. A budget brochure with information related to the proposed budget will be mailed to district residents in early May. Please email questions to [email protected] or contact the business office at 845-460-6200.