NM & PT students serve as Village of Monroe Mayor/Trustees

on May 22, 2019

Students from North Main Elementary School and Pine Tree Elementary School were invited to participate in a project competition as part of the Village of Monroe’s 125th Anniversary. They were asked to research a historic property located in the Village and to create a project in one of the following formats: written, song, dance, art, photography or 3D model.

On March 4, 2019, Village of Monroe Mayor Neil Dwyer, Village Trustees and members of the 125th Committee gathered at North Main Elementary School to judge the students’ projects. All students who participated received a certificate of participation.

Congratulations to the winners:


  • Brody Goodwin (Grade Two-North Main)


  • R J Andreala (Grade Two-North Main)
  • Ava Mueller (Grade Four-Pine Tree)
  • Ben Becker (Grade Five-North Main)
  • Alexander D’Onofrio (Grade Five-Pine Tree)

At the April 29th Village Meeting, the winners were officially sworn in as Mayor and Village Trustees during a ceremony at Village Hall. 

I truly believe we witnessed five amazing young people stepping into a role they will likely remember their entire life, showing maturity and dignity in their new positions. It inspires me to do more to involve our children in areas not typical, yet critical, in sparking our future leaders on many different platforms,” said Village of Monroe Mayor Neil Dwyer. “I was in awe of the students and the respect and attention they showed throughout the meeting. This was an amazing night, not just for the board members, but for the entire community.”

These five winners also received a VIP Pass to the Carnival that will be held on July 30, 2019. In addition, they will ride on the Village of Monroe Float at the Founder’s Day Celebration Parade on September 21, 2019.

  • Student Mayor