High School Prom Requirements

Students with their parents/guardians are required to attend a session to be admitted to the Junior and Senior proms

In 2019, Monroe-Woodbury High School began a new practice that we believe is beneficial to students and their families. In order for students to attend the Junior or Senior Prom, they are required to participate in one evening information session related to underage and binge drinking. A parent or guardian is required to attend along with the students.

Even if your child does not plan on attending a prom this year, he or she may attend one information session and the prom requirement will be fulfilled for the remainder of his or her high school years. For example, if a 9th grade student attends the presentation this year, he or she has met the requirement to attend proms through senior year. If you have multiple children enrolled in the High School, you may all attend one presentation together to meet the requirement. There is no need to attend separate presentations with each of your children.

As a school community, we care deeply about our young people and continuously engage in programs and initiatives that contribute to our students’ success, especially in the areas of health, social emotional wellness and safety. We know that it takes a partnership between the school district and our community to provide support, education and enriching opportunities that guide our children as they navigate life.

Social hosting goes hand in hand with underage drinking. While it may be an unfamiliar term, it is a topic that has come to the forefront in recent years in our county. Social hosting relates to underage individuals being provided alcohol. County Executive Neuhaus created the Social Host Law in 2016, in addition to a Social Host Underage Drinking campaign.

Though the current pandemic does not allow for in person presentations, we have created a virtual one to support our students and families in meeting this requirement. Through the collaboration with the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Council of Orange County, the virtual presentation If They Had Known was created. This documentary program focuses on today’s party culture and the risks of recreationally mixing prescription drugs with alcohol. It is an honest and emotional account of what happened to Clay Soper spoken by the friends who were with him. The story is truthful and alarming and has proven to connect with students in a modern way.

We have scheduled 18 opportunities for students and their parents to view the presentation. These presentations will all be Google Meets. If you have multiple high school students in your family, each student will need to register and sign into the meet individually. Students must use their M-W Google Email account to register and enter the Meet.

Reminder: if you attended a presentation last year, you have already met the requirement.

Schedule of Presentations for Students and Parents/Guardians

Presentations for Students and Families to fulfill Prom Requirement
Day Date Time
Monday 25-Jan-21 7:00 PM
Thursday 28-Jan-21 6:00 PM
Monday 1-Feb-21 6:00 PM
Tuesday 2-Feb-21 8:00 PM
Friday 5-Feb-21 6:00 PM
Saturday 6-Feb-21 3:00 PM
Tuesday 9-Feb-21 7:00 PM
Thursday 11-Feb-21 8:00 PM
Friday 12-Feb-21 7:00 PM
Saturday 27-Feb-21 2:00 PM Presentation in Spanish
Monday 1-Mar-21 6:00 PM
Thursday 4-Mar-21 7:00 PM
Friday 5-Mar-21 5:00 PM
Monday 8-Mar-21 8:00 PM Presentation in Spanish
Saturday 13-Mar-21 2:00 PM
Tuesday 16-Mar-21 6:00 PM
Saturday 20-Mar-21 4:00 PM
Monday 22-Mar-21 8:00 PM